Big Sandy College Educational Foundation, Inc. | BSCTC

Important Update:

BSCTC will be closed Tuesday 1/18/22. Classes will not meet. Only M & O and essential personnel are required to report to work.

Big Sandy College Educational Foundation, Inc.

The Big Sandy College Educational Foundation, Inc. was established in 1990 as a 501 (c)(3) non-profit corporation to support the purposes and mission of Big Sandy Community and Technical College (BSCTC). The Foundation increases financial and educational resources through development initiatives, establishes communication networks with private donors and public agencies, and supports programs and activities not funded through traditional sources.

The Foundation serves as the college’s chief fundraising agent to provide financial assistance as needed for scholarships and financial aid, program development and expansion, upgrades for campus facilities and grounds, and other college needs. It is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of volunteers from throughout the community who have dedicated time and resources to ensure the college remains a strong and vital educational institution for Big Sandy’s students and their families and business and industry in the region. 



Jerry KanneyJerry Kanney, Chair (2021)
Interstate Natural Gas 



Robert ShurtleffRobert Shurtleff, Vice Chair (2022)
AEP/Kentucky Power 



Phillip ElliottPhillip Elliott, Treasurer (2020)
Peoples Bank & Trust of Hazard



Earl ThackerEarl Thacker, Secretary (2023)


Board Members

Blank ImageConnie Bayes (2027)
City National Bank 



Blank ImagePromod "Mots" Bishnoi (2020)
Mountain Comprehensive Care Center 



Blank ImageJR Blackburn (2023)
Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc. 



Jon DargeJon Drage (2027)
Community Trust Bank 



Darren GillespieDarren Gillespie (2027)
Citizens Bank of Kentucky 



Sarah Lange-Hyden Sarah Lange-Hyden (2028)
Edward Jones Investments



Dr. Mina MajmundarDr. Mina Majmundar (2023)



Blank ImageJuile Paxton (2027)
Mountain Comprehensive Care Center 



Dr. Chandra Varia Dr. Chandra Varia (2029)


Ex-Officio Members

Dr ZylkaDr. Sherry Zylka
BSCTC President/CEO




Kelli Martin
Manager of Advancement
Prestonsburg Campus, Student Center, Room 205
(606) 886-7358