Big Sandy Community and Technical College (BSCTC) honored ten employees who have retired or plan to retire in the coming months during a reception held on Monday, December 14 in the Student Center on the Prestonsburg campus.

Dr. Devin Stephenson, president of BSCTC, said the retirees demonstrate the commitment to student success that has made the college a premiere institution.

These employees have gone above and beyond to meet the needs of students and the communities we serve, said Dr. Stephenson. We wish all of our retirees the very best in this new and exciting chapter of their lives.

Those recognized were:

Gilbert Kyle Adams. Adams retired on September 1 after spending 27 years as an associate professor of Diesel Technology.

Garry Senters spent more than 15 years at the college. He was the maintenance and operations supervisor for the Mayo and Hager Hill campuses. His retirement was effective September 1.

Judith Hicks retired on October 1, 2015. She spent 15 years at the college and worked as an administrative assistant in the office of the provost.

James J.P. Pruitt retired on November 1 after spending 10 years as a maintenance worker on the Mayo campus.

Timothy G. Heywood will retire on December 31, after more than 22 years of service to the college as a professor of mathematics.

Dr. Theresa A. Milon has spent more than 31 years as a professor of psychology at the college. She will retire on December 31.

Dr. Della F. Pack has spent 29 years at BSCTC. She has served in several different capacities and is currently the registrar. She will retire on December 31.

Dr. John G. Shiber has spent more than 25 years as a professor of Biology at BSCTC. He will retire on December 31.

Melinda Justice has served BSCTC for more than 25 years. An associate dean of learning support services, she will retire on December 31.

Dolores Lynn Hall is the director of Floyd County Adult Education. She has been employed at the college for more than 10 years and will retire on January 31, 2016.

Employees with 25 or more years of service will also have a commemorative brick placed on the campus of their choosing.