Big Sandy Community and Technical College held its annual Employee Service Awards ceremony on Tuesday, May 13, in the Student Center on its Prestonsburg campus.

Four individuals were named as BSCTC Ambassadors, a new award created by President and CEO Dr. George D. Edwards.

Our ambassadors represent what is great about our college, Dr. Edwards told those in attendance. These individuals promote our college and our values in everything they do.

Dr. Doug Herman, professor of history; Dr. Phyllis Puffer, a retired professor of sociology; and employees Ken Shepherd and Cora Nunn were recognized as Ambassadors.

Puffer spent 10 years as a full-time faculty member and several years as a part-time instructor. She has taught at various colleges and universities in the United States and the Czech Republic.

Shepherd, who just turned 80 years old, has worked at the college on a part-time basis for 10 years in maintenance and operations. Nunn, 90, has worked part time as a switchboard operator on BSCTCs Pikeville campus for 10 years.

The college also recognized three employees who will retire in the coming months. They include Dr. Herman, Dr. Deborah Jacobs, professor of English, and Harold Burton, director of BSCTCs Kentucky Coal Academy and interim director of workforce solutions.

Herman came to then-Prestonsburg Community College in 1988. He received his Ph.D. from Ohio University in 1980. During his career, Herman served as a faculty representative on the colleges board of directors.

Jacobs began her career at then-Prestonsburg Community College in 1991. She earned her Ph.D. from Louisiana State University and served as acting coordinator of the colleges Pikeville campus from 1996-97.

Burton began his career at the then-Mayo Technical College in 1983 and has held various different positions at the college including: maintenance/electricity instructor and academic/core related instructor. He earned his graduate degree in Adult and Higher Education in 2007 from Morehead State University.

Several employees were also recognized for earning new degrees and credentials.

Dr. David Profitt defended his dissertation in Philosophic Theology from Asbury University. Dr. Della Pack and Dr. Jennifer Leedy each defended their dissertation from Morehead State University. Dr. Fallon Watson earned her doctorate degree in psychology from the University of the Rockies, while Dr. Chris Daniel earned his doctorate in Educational Leadership from Liberty University.

The following employees also earned graduate degrees: Carla Branham (Morehead State University), Lillieann Neeley (Morehead State University), Terri Hall (Morehead State University), Kelli Hall (Morehead State University); and Collista Allen (University of Phoenix).

Kelli Ayers and Sandra Ratliff each earned a bachelors degree from Morehead State University.

Elizabeth Cole earned the following credentials: certification in Sacred Scripture; Business Coaching Specialist; Career Development Coaching; Relationship Coaching; Wellness Coaching Specialist; Get Clear, Get Found, Get Hired Coach; 360 Reach Personal Branding Analyst; and Certified Brain-Based Success Coach.

Etta Cantrell, who was recognized for her 35 years of service to the college, was recognized for being chosen as the Kentucky Outstanding Developmental Educator of the year by the Kentucky Association for Developmental Education. The Washington, D.C.-based Workforce Initiatives Foundation published an article written by Cantrell on competency-based learning. Cantrell was asked to be an editor on the Workforce Initiatives Foundations book Transforming U.S. Workforce Development Policies for the 21st Century. Her work will focus on using technology for competency-based learning that features KCTCSs Learn on Demand and college readiness.

Toufic Saad, professor of mathematics, was honored for winning the Great Teacher award for two consecutive years.

The following faculty members were recognized for promotions. Dr. Chris Daniel, Jeffrey Hicks, Lori Lewis, Cindy Manning and Dr. Lisa Music were promoted to professor. Nicole Burchett, Jerry Howard, Jimmy McClure, Marsha McKenzie, Pamela Ray and Greta Slone were named associate professors. Heather Dales, Joshua Hall, Teddie Ratliff and Lesley Varney were named assistant professors.

Members of the BSCTC Leadership Institute were honored. They include: Denese Atkinson, Susan Chafin, Billie Jean Cole, Dr. Chris Daniel, John Dove, Myra Elliott, Dr. Patsy Jackson, Melinda Justice, Kathy Lowe, Keithen McKenzie, Michelle Meek, Dr. Richard Roe, Tina Terry, Denise Trusty and Jimmy Wright.

Several employees were honored for participating in local and regional leadership programs. They include: Lisa Music, Leadership Floyd County; Charles Moore and Lisa Stumbo, Leadership Southeast Kentucky; Jennifer Wilson, Leadership Johnson County; and Cindy Manning, Leadership East Kentucky.

Dwight Smith and Jimmy McClure were honored as Master Teacher Seminar participants.

BSCTCs Staff Council recognized Teresa McCoart, Tammy Ball, Joe Campbell, Dr. Tom Vierheller and Paula Preece with its Above and Beyond award.

The following employees were recognized for their respective years of service to the college:

35 years: Etta Cantrell and Dr. Nancy Johnson.

30 years: Harold Burton.

25 years: Arif Azeem, Toufic Saad, Delores Thornsberry, Gilbert Kyle Adams and Dr. Doug Herman.

20 years: Kathy Lowe, Elizabeth Cole, Vanessa McKenzie, Denise Trusty, Kelly Adam, Timothy Heywood, Dr. Patsy Jackson and Dwight Smith.

15 years: Martha Morrison, Ramona Horn, John Dove, Dr. Chenzhao Vierheller, Michelle Meek, James Armstrong, Susan Chafin, June Franklin and Paula Thompson.

10 years: Betsy Spradlin, Ken Vanhoose, Tom Reffitt, Tina Ousley, Kathryn Miller, Nancy Conn, Sherri Kinzer, Judith Valade and Mary Wallen.

5 years: Misty Adkins, Lauren Bowman, Julia Maynard, Freda Hylton, C.W. Vanhoose, Tina Terry, Vicki Hart, Derrick Holbrook, Jefferson Thacker, Carla Branham, Roberta Durham, Kayla Hensley, Lisa Stumbo, Melinda Blair, Nicole Burchett, Jeremy Dempsey, Clint Hackney, Jerry Howard, Kitty Jennings, Jimmy McClure, Marsha McKenzie, Greta Slone and David VanHoose.