Phi Theta Kappa chapter holds induction ceremony | BSCTC

News Archive

Phi Theta Kappa chapter holds induction ceremony

Published on Mar 31, 2017

The Alpha Nu Zeta chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa program held an induction ceremony on Thursday, March 23 in the Gearheart Auditorium on the Prestonsburg campus of Big Sandy Community and Technical College. 

Kelli Chaney, dean of career education and workforce development, Myra Elliott, dean of academic services and Dr. Patsy Jackson, coordinator of the associate degree nursing program spoke at the event. 

Ladonna Griffey, president of BSCTC’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter, said the induction ceremony is always a special event. 

“Phi Theta Kappa is the premiere honors society for two-year colleges,” said Griffey. “Our chapter demonstrates the core values of our college and the Phi Theta Kappa organization, and I am proud of all that we have accomplished.” 

Abby Varney, vice president of leadership, read the meaning of the torch to inductees, while Madison Saad, vice president of service, read the meaning of the white rose.  Member Brooke Goble gave the invocation. 

Mark Wells, Dr. Kathryn Miller and Diana Pack are co-advisors for the Phi Theta Kappa chapter at BSCTC. 

“We are very excited to welcome our new members,” said Dr. Miller. “I’m also proud of the great work of our chapter this academic year.  They have gone above and beyond.” 

This year’s inductees are: Norma Birchfield, Sarah Birchwell, Krystal Blakemon, Meghan Bryant, Stephanie Burchett Hall, Kimberly Caudill, Kassidy Childers, Courtney Cole, Andrea Conn, William Cope, Brooke Goble, Johnna Goble, Seth Hammonds, Rachel Hampton, Kristen Hicks, Sheana Hight, Brandy Howard, Hannah Johnson, Kaitlyn Justice, Kobe Justice, Cassie Kendrick, Kaitlyn King, Carla Lemaster, Candace Lockard, Mary Lupardus, Brittney Maynard, Timothy Maynard, Whitney McCoy, Audrianna Mullins, Ashley Mullins, Stephanie Music, Rachelle Osborne, Megan Patrick, Andy Pelphrey, Tyler Penn, Kennard Ratliff, Casey Rogers, Triniti Runyon, Valerie Runyon, John Spears, Vanessa Turner and Devante Williams.