Students in class with maps

Adult Education

It's never too late for a new beginning.

The Big Sandy Community and Technical College Johnson County Adult Education Program is located on the Mayo Campus in Paintsville, Kentucky. Our class rooms are located in Building C, Room 200. Adult Education services are available Monday through Wednesday 8:00-4:30 E.S.T., and on Thursday 8:00-7:30 E.S.T.

The BSCTC Floyd County Adult Education Program Class schedules are M, W or TR from 9:00-11:30 a.m. and 12:30-3:00 p.m. E.S.T. Evening Classes M-TR, 5:00 - 7:30 p.m. If you need to call and make an appointment to speak to an instructor about scheduling the numbers are listed below. We are located on Campus in the Magoffin Building, Second Floor, Room 208. We have several satellite sites in Floyd County:

  • Floyd County Library—Prestonsburg Branch –Monday and Wednesday 2:00-4:00 p.m. 
  • Betsy Layne Senior Citizens Center—Tuesday and Wednesday 5:00-8:30 p.m. 
  • Grigsby Heights,Martin –Tuesday and Wednesday 6:00-8:00 p.m. 
  • Auxier Learning Center—Monday and Wednesday 1:00-4:00 p.m. 
  • Left Beaver Townhouses, Minnie—Monday and Wednesday 8:30-11:30 a.m. 
  • Middle Creek Fire Department (Station 1)—Mon. 5:00-8:00 p.m. and Wed. 9:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Get Your GED

Our GED classes are completely free. We provide the books, class materials, and experienced instructors to help you earn your high school equivalence at your own pace. Just drop by or call Jennifer Leedy at (606) 788-2827 or Lynn Hall at (606) 886-7334

Improve Your Job Skills

It's never too late to boost your basic employment skills such as reading, writing, math, and computer literacy. 

Test Preparation

We'll help you prepare for important college entrance and employment exams such as ASSET, COMPASS, and TABE tests. 

Contact Us

Don't hesitate to contact us with any questions about adult education services:

Lynn Hall, Director of Adult Education Program
Office: Magoffin Bldg. 213
Phone: (606) 886-7334 
E-mail: dhall0076@kctcs.edu

Jennifer Leedy, Director of Adult Education Program, Mayo Campus BSCTC
Office: Building C, Room 200
Phone: (606) 788-2827
E-mail: jennifer.leedy@kctcs.edu

Phillip Gullett, Adult Education Instructor, Mayo Campus BSCTC
Office: Building C, Room 200
Phone: (606) 788-2876
E-mail: pgullett0002@kctcs.edu

Ron Hampton, Adult Education Instructor, Mayo Campus BSCTC
Office: Building C, Room 200
Phone: (606) 788-2820
E-mail: rhampton0010@kctcs.edu

Diane Lafferty, Program Assistant, Mayo Campus BSCTC
Office: Building C, Room 200
Phone: (606) 788-2887
E-mail: dlafferty0003@kctcs.edu

Fran Stepp
Phone: (606) 886-3863 ext. 67397
estepp0005@kctcs.edu

Nancy Bormes
Phone: (606) 886-3863 ext. 64803
nbormes0001@kctcs.edu

Wayne Combs
Phone: (606) 886-3869 ext. 64785
wcombs0016@kctcs.edu

Stephanie Conn
Phone: (606) 886-3863 ext. 64804
sconn0008@kctcs.edu

Laura Wells
Phone: (606) 886-3863 ext. 67381
lwells0038@kctcs.edu

Elizabeth Smith
Phone: (606) 889-4799
esmith0354@kctcs.edu